How I’m planning to test one of my projects by writing another one

The purpose

Some time ago, I started writing wsgid. It is a project that brings to you the ability to run any WSGI application with mongrel2 web server. Some time ago I had this idea of writing a web application that could help me test wsgid on a real production environment. Both wsgid’ official website and my personal website are hosted using wsgid and mongrel2 as the backend, but none of them even uses a database (and maybe won’t for a long time) and since they are very simple and low traffic websites, I think they aren’t good enough to test wsgid.

I thought about some type of applications that would be better to test wsgid and end up with the decision to write my own blog engine. This same engine will soon power my own blog, self hosted and managed by me.

Wait, another blog engine? Why?

Yes, it will be a blog engine, another one! =) Before you think about NIH, I will try to explain why I decided to start this project. The very first thing I did when I thought about writing one more blog engine was to find some existing ones. But it could not be any blog engine, they must obey some rules:

  • Written in python
  • Used a WSGI framework
  • Bonus points for engines written in Django

These rules are obvious. If I’m trying to test wsgid (that is a WSGI gateway) the application must be written in Python and be compliant to the WSGI specification. The last one was a bonus point because I’m currently learning Django. I found that are there plenty of Django blog engines, but one decision made me not choose any of them: I want to learn something new, and I think the best way to do this is having a project. And not any one, but one that you will really use. And writing the code of my own blog is a good way to maintain the project alive, evolving and getting better and better.

Another point that helped me on this decision was the willing to self host my applications. This will give me very important knowledge and experience on system administration, servers, deployment, clusters and may more. Recently I had two amazing opportunities to work with these topics and I’m sure that if I were already managing my own infra-structure for a while I could have done much better on these two interviews.

Until the day of witting this blog post, my blog is still hosted on wordpress.com. I  plan to migrate to my own servers as soon as this new project becomes minimally usable. This will be good for many reasons that I already said and one more is that I will be able to have my own domain name and not pay any more money for this, since I already own daltonmatos.com.

Wish me luck

Starting a new project is always a great responsibility, first with yourself, second with the people that follow your projects and more important: with who uses your project. So today I decided to start this new project: The blog engine. It has no name yet, the only certainty is that I will create this project and host my own blog. The code will be hosted on github, where I publish all my codes. So if you are intersted follow me there and stay tuned!

Thank you for reading!

, ,

